IPL – Most Valuable Player (MVP)

The upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League is very special as it will return to its old home and away matches format like it used to be played till the 2019 season. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the last three seasons were played in selected venues or the United Arab Emirates. IPL 2023 will be fiercely competitive, featuring top international and domestic cricket players. The IPL’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) award recognizes consistent performances throughout the tournament.

The MVP award was introduced in 2008 as the “Man of the Tournament” title. In 2013, it was renamed as the MVP award. The player with the most points after the IPL final is presented with the award.

The MVP award ranking is determined by a unique rating system that awards players points for various contributions such as fours, sixes, wickets, dot balls, catches, run-outs, and stumpings. Each four earns a player 2.5 points, each six earns 3.5 points, each wicket earns 3.5 points, each dot ball earns 1 point, and each catch or stumping earns 2.5 points.

IPL Most Valuable Players From 2008 to 2022:

2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2020Jofra ArcherRajasthan Royals
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals