7 Best IPL Moments So Far

Best IPL Moments

Share post:

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a source of unbridled joy and entertainment for cricket fans across the world since its inception in 2008. Over the years, the tournament has produced some unforgettable moments that have left fans spellbound. From incredible individual performances to nail-biting finishes, the IPL has delivered it all. In this article, we will take a look at seven of the best IPL moments so far.

1. The first-ever IPL final in 2008

The inaugural season of the IPL in 2008 was a massive success, with the tournament capturing the imagination of cricket fans worldwide. The final of the tournament between the Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings was an epic encounter that went down to the wire. Chasing a target of 164, the Chennai Super Kings needed 8 runs off the last over, but they fell short by just three runs. The Rajasthan Royals, under the captaincy of Shane Warne, emerged as the first champions of the IPL, setting the stage for many more memorable finals in the years to come.\

2. Chris Gayle’s 175* in 2013


Chris Gayle is one of the most destructive batsmen in the history of the IPL, and in 2013, he produced one of the most breathtaking innings ever seen in the tournament. Playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore against the Pune Warriors, Gayle smashed an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls, hitting 13 fours and 17 sixes in the process. His innings remains the highest individual score in T20 cricket and will be remembered as one of the greatest batting displays ever seen.

3. The 2019 final between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings

The final of the 2019 IPL between the Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings was a game for the ages. After winning the toss and electing to bat first, the Mumbai Indians were restricted to a modest total of 149/8. In reply, the Chennai Super Kings were cruising at 70/1 in the tenth over, but a brilliant spell of bowling from Jasprit Bumrah turned the game on its head. Needing 9 runs off the last over, the Chennai Super Kings fell agonizingly short, handing the Mumbai Indians their fourth IPL title.

Also read: IPL 2023 Points Table

4. Kieron Pollard’s 87* off 34 balls in 2016

Kieron Pollard is known for his explosive batting, and in 2016, he produced stunning innings that helped the Mumbai Indians pull off an incredible heist against the Kings XI Punjab. Chasing a target of 198, the Mumbai Indians were struggling at 120/4 in the 14th over when Pollard walked in. He proceeded to smash an unbeaten 87 off just 34 balls, hitting six fours and eight sixes in the process, as the Mumbai Indians won the game by six wickets with one ball to spare.

5. MS Dhoni’s last-ball six in the 2011 final

The 2011 IPL final between the Chennai Super Kings and the Royal Challengers Bangalore was a thriller that went down to the last ball. Chasing a target of 206, the Chennai Super Kings needed 16 runs off the last over. With two runs needed off the last ball, MS Dhoni, the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, smashed a six over long-on to win the game and clinch the IPL title. It was a moment of pure magic that will be remembered for years to come.

6. Virat Kohli’s four centuries in a single season (2016)

Virat Kohli is regarded as one of the best batsmen in the world, and he showed why in the 2016 IPL. Playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kohli had a remarkable season, scoring four centuries in a single campaign. He finished the tournament with 973 runs at an average of 81.08, and his performances helped the Royal Challengers reach the final. Although they lost to the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final, Kohli’s heroics will always be remembered.

7. Mumbai Indians win a record fifth IPL title (2020)

The Mumbai Indians cemented their place as the most successful team in IPL history by winning their fifth title in 2020. Playing against the Delhi Capitals in the final, the Mumbai Indians posted a formidable total of 200. In reply, the Capitals never really got going and were bowled out for 143. Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah were the stars with the ball for the Mumbai Indians, taking three wickets each. The victory was a testament to the Mumbai Indians’ dominance in the IPL and their ability to perform consistently under pressure.

The Indian Premier League has provided cricket fans with countless memorable moments over the years, and these seven moments stand out as some of the best. From incredible individual performances to nail-biting finishes, the IPL has delivered it all. These moments have not only entertained us but have also cemented the tournament’s place as one of the most exciting and competitive T20 leagues in the world.

As we look forward to the 2023 season of the IPL, we can’t wait to see what new moments will be created and which old ones will be revisited. The IPL has become more than just a cricket tournament; it’s a celebration of the sport and the players who make it great. We can only hope that the next season of the IPL will be just as entertaining and that we will witness many more unforgettable moments that will live on in cricketing folklore for years to come.

Follow Cricreads to get all the latest updates on IPL 2023, WPL, Dream11 Prediction, T20 Leagues, Match Prediction, Cricket on Social Media and more
Cricreads provides you the best dream11 prediction and match prediction.

Related articles