IPL 2023 Points Table

1Chennai Super Kings0000000
2Mumbai Indians0000000
3Kolkata Knight Riders0000000
4Delhi Capitals0000000
5Punjab Kings0000000
6Rajasthan Royals0000000
7Royal Challengers Bangalore0000000
8Sunrisers Hyderabad0000000
9Gujarat Titans0000000
10Lucknow Super Giants0000000

The sixteenth edition of the IPL 2023 is scheduled to begin on March 31, with ten teams competing for the championship title until May 28.The tournament will last for slightly over a month.

The BCCI has divided the ten teams into two groups (A and B) to accommodate the increased number of teams in the league.

  • Group A comprises MI, RR, KKR, DC, and LSG, while Group B includes CSK, PBKS, SRH, RCB, and GT.
  • Each team will play the five teams from the other group twice and the remaining four teams from their own group once.
  • As a result, each team will play 14 league games.

The IPL 2023 tournament is expected to break new records and surpass previous ones.

IPL Points Table 2023 Rules

The IPL points table awards two points to the team that wins a match, and no points are given to the losing team. If a game is abandoned or results in a tie, both teams will receive one point each.

When two teams have the same number of points on the table, the team with the higher number of wins will be ranked higher. However, if the number of wins is equal, the net run rate (NRR) will be used to determine their position. The NRR is adjusted after each game based on the margin of a team’s victory or defeat.

The winner of Qualifier 1 will advance directly to the finals, while the losing team will play in Qualifier 2. The teams placed 3rd and 4th will only play in one match, known as the Eliminator. The winner of the Eliminator will advance to Qualifier 2, while the losing team will be eliminated from the tournament.

IPL 2023 Ranking Facts

There will only be one points table despite there being two groups. At the end of the league stage, the top four teams on the points table will qualify for the playoffs, and the other six teams will be eliminated. The top two teams on the table will get two chances to make the finals by playing Qualifiers 1 and 2.

Chennai Super Kings have qualified for the playoffs the most times (11) in the Indian Premier League.

Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and Deccan Chargers (now defunct) are the only teams to have finished an IPL season with just two wins (4 points), which is the lowest for any team.

These two teams share the distinction of never finishing at the top of the Indian Premier League points table but have won at least one title.

The lowest number of points that a team has ever progressed to the playoffs with in IPL history is 12.