Australia Squad for Test Series Against India- 4 Spinners in 18 Men Squad

Australia has shocked everyone by including 4 spinners in its squad for the tour of India.

Share post:

Cricket Australia has announced its 18 men’s squad for the Test series (Border Gavaskar Trophy) against India. An 18 men’s squad has been named for the Australia Tour of India and what’s surprising is that Australia has decided to include four specialist spinners in the squad despite being considered a pace-heavy team. Four Test matches between India and Australia will be played at Nagpur, Delhi, Dharamsala and Ahmedabad during the month of February and March.

Australia Squad for Test Series Against India- 4 Spinners in 18 Men Squad

Australia Squad for Test Series against India

Pat Cummins (capt), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia Squad for India Tour- Highlights


Australia has included four spinners including Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Ashton Agar and Mitchell Swepson. The Indian pitches are known to be rank turners, and Australia has prepared its squad accordingly. Todd Murphy is an uncapped Australian spinner, while Lyon, Agar and Swepson have already played against India.

Pat Cummins will be the captain for the Test series against India, while Steve Smith is tasked with Vice Captaincy of the team.

Lance Morris, the uncapped Australian pacer, has been included as a backup in the squad. It is also reported that Mitchell Starc has not recovered from his finger tendon injury that he suffered in Sydney during the last Test against South Africa. Starc won’t be available for the first Test match against India, but he is retained in the squad.

Usman Khawaja and David Warner are two first-choice openers, while Marcus Harris has missed out. Warner has recently said that he will retire in one year from international cricket, and this could be his last Test series against India.

Cricket Australia has only gone with Alex Carey as the wicketkeeper for the Test series against India. If Carey suffers an injury, then Peter Handscomb will be the only one who could replace him in the matches.

Follow Cricreads to get all the latest updates on IPL 2023, WPL, Dream11 Prediction, T20 Leagues, Match Prediction, Cricket on Social Media and more
Cricreads provides you the best dream11 prediction and match prediction.

Related articles