DC vs MI WPL Final: Mumbai Indians crowned inaugural WPL champions

Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by seven wickets in the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 final held at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Share post:

In yesterday’s Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 final at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, Mumbai Indians (MI) emerged as the winners, beating Delhi Capitals (DC) by seven wickets.

Here’s a breakdown of how the match went.

DC vs MI: WPL 2023 Final

DC vs MI WPL 2023 Final: First Innings

In DC’s innings, Wong (3/42), Matthews (3/5), and Kerr (2/18) were the standout bowlers who kept the opposition on the back foot for the most part. However, a blazing last-wicket partnership of 52* in just 24 balls between Shikha Pandey (27* off 17) and Radha Yadav (27* off 12) lifted DC past 130. DC got off to a bizarre start as Wong claimed three wickets inside the powerplay, all of them with full tosses. In the same over, Capsey (0) chipped another high full toss to cover. Delhi went for a review, but this time there was no doubt about the decision. Luck continued to favor Wong as Jemimah Rodrigues (9) chipped another full toss to point. Pandey and Yadav then led a feisty fightback for DC. Pandey hit Wong for a six and two fours in the penultimate over, while Yadav finished off the innings by hitting the last two balls of the 20th over from Sciver-Brunt over the ropes. However, a blazing last-wicket stand of 52* in just 24 balls between Shikha Pandey (27* off 17) and Radha Yadav (27* off 12) lifted DC past 130. Pandey and Yadav’s cameos with the bat lifted DC to a respectable score of 131/9, but they were unable to defend it.

DC vs MI WPL 2023 Final: Second Innings


During the chase, Mumbai lost their first wicket to a full toss. Yastika Bhatia was caught at deep midwicket by Alice Capsey off the bowling of Radha Yadav for just 4 runs. Matthews was then dismissed by Jess Jonassen for 13 runs, leaving MI at 21/2. However, Sciver-Brunt and Harmanpreet Kaur (37 off 39) added 72 runs for the third wicket, setting up the victory for MI. The duo started cautiously before breaking the shackles by hitting Capsey for two fours in the 12th over. Harmanpreet’s run-out at the start of the 17th over, going for a risky single, kept DC in the hunt. However, Sciver-Brunt and Amelia Kerr (14* off 8) took MI to victory with some key boundaries under pressure. Nat Sciver-Brunt was the star with the bat for MI, scoring an unbeaten half-century (60* off 55 balls) to help her team cross the finish line in 19.3 overs and become the inaugural WPL champions.

DC vs MI WPL 2023 Final: Player of the Match

Sciver-Brunt was named the Player of the Match for her defining innings. Wong was another standout performer with three crucial wickets, and Matthews was sensational with figures of 3/5, with two of her four overs being maidens. Kerr also chipped in with a couple of scalps and a handy cameo at the end.

DC vs MI WPL 2023 Final: Playing XI

Delhi Capitals Women Playing XI: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Arundhati Reddy, Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Minnu Mani.

Mumbai Indians Women Playing XI: Yastika Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque.

Also Read: DEL-W vs MI-W Head-To-Head Record in WPL Before Today’s Final Match
Also Read: Live Streaming and Telecast Details for Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians

Related articles