IND vs SL, Asia Cup 2023 Final: Records Broken by India and Sri Lanka – Full List

Records tumbled as India prevailed over hosts Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the final of the Asia Cup to lift the title after a gap of five years.

In a breathtaking display of fast bowling mastery, Mohammed Siraj decimated Sri Lanka’s batting lineup within the opening six overs of the match, claiming a remarkable five-wicket haul during this period. The onslaught began with Jasprit Bumrah’s early wicket in the third ball, setting the tone for India’s bowling. However, it was Siraj who delivered an unforgettable performance by taking four wickets in a single over, dismantling Sri Lanka’s top order. In just his second over, he dismissed Sri Lanka’s captain, Dasun Shanaka, sealing his five-wicket haul.

IND vs SL, Asia Cup 2023 Final: Records Broken by India and Sri Lanka - Full List

At this juncture, Sri Lanka found themselves in dire straits, struggling at 12/6 after 5.4 overs. The nightmare continued for the home team as Siraj continued his relentless attack, ultimately achieving a record-breaking figure of 6/21 – the best by any bowler in an ODI against Sri Lanka. To compound Sri Lanka’s woes, Hardik Pandya claimed three vital wickets, rapidly concluding the Sri Lankan innings by taking two wickets in the first two balls of the 16th over. Sri Lanka’s innings came to a close at a mere 50 runs, marking their second-lowest score ever in ODIs.

IND vs SL, Asia Cup 2023 Final: Records Broken by India and Sri Lanka - Full List

India’s response was swift and emphatic. The opening pair of Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill displayed their batting prowess by accumulating 32 runs in just three overs. They continued to dominate, ultimately chasing down the target in the seventh over without losing a wicket. India clinched the final in a commanding fashion, securing victory with all ten wickets intact and a staggering 263 balls to spare. Mohammed Siraj was named as the Player of the Match, while Kuldeep Yadav was named as the Player of the Tournament in the Asia Cup 2023.

Here is a look at all the major records broken in the Asia Cup 2023 final between India and Sri Lanka:

  • India secured its eighth Asia Cup ODI title, extending its record as the most successful team in the tournament’s history.
  • Mohammed Siraj equaled the record for the fastest ODI five-wicket haul, achieving this feat in just 16 balls, a record he shares with Chaminda Vaas (against Bangladesh in 2003).
  • Siraj became the second-fastest bowler to reach 50 ODI wickets, achieving this milestone in 1002 balls, second only to Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis.
  • Among Indian bowlers, Siraj became the 11th to claim a six-wicket haul in ODIs.
  • Siraj’s remarkable figures of 6 for 21 rank as the fourth-best bowling performance by an Indian man and the 31st best overall in ODI cricket.
  • Siraj also became the first Indian bowler, and the fourth overall, to take four wickets in a single over in ODIs.
  • Sri Lanka posted the lowest-ever total in Asia Cup ODIs, managing just 50 runs in 15.2 overs.
  • This total of 50 is Sri Lanka’s second-lowest ever in ODIs and ranks as the 10th lowest in the history of ODI cricket.
  • India’s victory, with 263 balls to spare, marked their largest win in terms of balls remaining in ODI cricket when chasing.
  • India’s run chase, completed in 6.1 overs, ranks as the fifth-fastest in the history of One-Day Internationals.
  • India extended its record for the most wins by a team against a single opponent in ODIs, recording its 98th win against Sri Lanka.
  • Rohit Sharma became the third Indian captain to win two ODI Asia Cup titles, joining the ranks of MS Dhoni and Mohammed Azharuddin.
  • Sri Lanka faced the second-lowest number of overs in an ODI when batting first and getting bowled out, managing only 15.2 overs in their innings.
Also Read: IND vs SL, Asia Cup 2023 Final: India Wins Eighth Asia Cup Title with Dominant Victory over Sri Lanka

Shortest ODIs by balls bowled

  • 104 NEP vs USA Kirtipur 2020
  • 120 SL vs ZIM Colombo SSC 2001
  • 129 IND vs SL Colombo RPS 2023 *
  • 140 SL vs CAN Paarl 2003

Biggest wins in an ODI final (balls remaining)

  • 263 IND vs SL Colombo RPS 2023 *
  • 226 AUS vs ENG Sydney 2003
  • 179 AUS vs PAK Lord’s 1999

Biggest ODI wins for India (balls remaining)

  • 263 vs SL Colombo RPS 2023 *
  • 231 vs KEN Bloemfontein 2001
  • 211 vs WI Trivandrum 2018
  • 188 vs ENG The Oval 2022

10-wicket wins in ODI finals

  • 197/0 IND vs ZIM Sharjah 1998
  • 118/0 AUS vs ENG Sydney 2003
  • 51/0 IND vs SL Colombo RPS 2023 *
IPL 2024

Related articles