India Squad for Australia Test Series- Suryakumar Yadav Earns a Maiden Call-Up

Share post:

India has announced the squad for the upcoming Test series against Australia, which is scheduled to be played in February and March 2023. However, the squad is announced for only the first two matches right now, and it will undergo changes after the first two Tests. Jasprit Bumrah has missed out due to the stiffness he is facing while bowling; Ravindra Jadeja has been included in the squad, but his inclusion in the team is subject to fitness. KS Bharat and Ishan Kishan are named as the two wicketkeeper batters. KL Rahul has been named vice-captain for the Australia Test series. Rohit Sharma is going to captain the side. Axar Patel has also been named in the squad after missing out against NZ in ODIs and T20s due to family commitments.

Bumrah Jadeja

India Squad for First Two Tests Against Australia: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, C Pujara, V Kohli, S Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja (Subject to fitness), Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav has finally earned a maiden call-up to the Indian Test squad. Jaydev Unadkat is retained in the squad due to his heroics in domestic cricket. Kuldeep Yadav has also returned to the Test squad after quite a long time. Washington Sundar has failed to find a spot. All in all, India now looks settled to battle it out with Australia.

Related articles