IPL 2023: List of All Orange Cap Winners of the Past 15 Years

Can Virat Kohli win the orange cap in IPL 2023.

Share post:

Indian Premier League started with a fiery 158 run knock by Brendon McCullum in the inaugurating match. Since then, the tournament has seen some of the greatest T20 performances of the bat. To reward these performances IPL awards Orange Cap every year to the player who scores most runs.

IPL 2023: List of All Orange Cap Winners of the Past 15 Years

IPL 2023: List of All Orange Cap Winners of the Past 15 Years

David Warner has the record of winning the Orange Cap three times in the history of IPL, which is the highest so far.

The full list of year wise Orange Cap holders from 2008 to 2022 is given below.

List of all IPL Orange Cap Winners

YearWinnerTeamRunsAverageStrike Rate50100Highest Score
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals86357.53149.0544116
2021Ruturaj GaikwadCSK63545.35136.2641101*
2020KL RahulKXIP67055.83129.3451132*
2019David WarnerSRH69269.2143.8781100
2018Kane WilliamsonSRH73552.5142.448084
2017David WarnerSRH64158.27141.8141126
2016Virat KohliRCB97381.08152.0374113
2015David WarnerSRH56243.23156.547091
2014Robin UthappaKKR66044137.785083
2013Michael HusseyCSK73352.35129.56095
2012Chris GayleRCB73361.08160.7471128
2011Chris GayleRCB60867.55183.1332107
2010Sachin TendulkarMI61847.53132.615089
2009Matthew HaydenCSK57252144.815089
2008Shaun MarshKXIP61668.44139.6851115

Virat Kohli’s 973 runs in IPL 2016 still remains the highest total scored by an orange cap winner in IPL 2023. He is again in red hot form this year and can win the orange cap. David Warner is another batter who consistent scores more than 400 runs in each IPL season. This year he will be captaining Delhi Capitals which makes him a favourite to win the orange cap. KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Faf Du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Suryakumar Yadav are the few other batters who can win the orange cap in IPL 2023.

Related articles

Cricket News