IPL 2023: Nitish Rana has been appointed as KKR’s new captain in absence of Shreyas Iyer

Nitish Rana named stand-in captain for KKR

Before the start of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, big news has come out from the Kolkata Knight Riders camp. KKR has handed over the captaincy of the team to 29-year-old Nitish Rana in the absence of Shreyas Iyer. Shreyas Iyer is currently battling a back injury and is expected to be ruled out of the entire IPL 2023 season. Kolkata Knight Riders has to play its first match in IPL 2023 against Punjab Kings on 1 April.

Kolkata Knight Riders expressed hope that Shreyas will definitely be available for some matches in IPL 2023. “Kolkata Knight Riders today announced that Nitish Rana would captain the side in the absence of Shreyas lyer, who is recovering from a back injury. While we are hopeful that Shreyas will recover and participate at some stage in the IPL 2023 edition, we feel fortunate that Nitish, with the captaincy experience having led his state side in white ball cricket and the IPL experience he has had with KK since 2018, will do a great job,” KKR said in an official statement.

KKR: Nitish Rana 8th Captain:

1. Sourav Ganguly – 27 matches, 13 wins, 14 losses

2. Brendon McCullum – 13 matches, 3 wins, 9 losses, 1 tie

3. Gautam Gambhir – 122 matches, 69 wins, 51 losses, 1 tie, 1 no result

4. Jacques Kallis – 2 matches, 1 win, 1 loss

5. Dinesh Karthik – 37 matches, 19 wins, 17 losses, 1 tie

6, Eoin Morgan – 24 matches, 11 wins, 12 losses, 1 tie

7. Shreyas Iyer – 14 matches, 6 wins, 8 losses

8. Nitish Rana

IPL 2024

Related articles