IPL 2023 Orange Cap List

The Orange Cap is a highly sought-after recognition for a batsman competing in the Indian Premier League (IPL). It is bestowed upon the player who scores the most runs in a given season of the IPL, making them the top run-scorer of that edition of the tournament.

IPL 2023 Orange Cap List (Updated after MI vs GT)

1Faf Du PlessisRCB576111157.60157.804532
2Yashasvi Jaiswal RR575111152.27167.157426
3Suryakumar Yadav MI479121243.56190.835224
4Shubman Gill GT475121243.18141.364913
5Devon ConwayCSK468121152.00136.845513

IPL Orange Cap 2022 List

No.Player NameTeamMatchesRunsHighest ScoreAvrSR100504S6S
1Jos ButtlerRR1786311657.53149.05448345
2KL RahulLSG15616103*51.33135.38244530
3Q de KockLSG15508140*36.28148.97134723
4Hardik PandyaGT1548787*44.27131.26044912
5Shubman GillGT164839634.5132.32045111
6David MillerGT1648194*68.71142.72023223
7F du PlessisRCB164689631.2127.52034913
8Shikhar DhawanPBKS1446088*38.33122.66034712
9Sanju SamsonRR174585528.62146.79024326
10Deepak HoodaLSG154515932.21136.66043618
IPL 2022 Orange Cap List

Rules for 2023 IPL Cap Orange Cap

  • The Orange Cap will be given to the player who scores the most runs in IPL 2023 season.
  • The batsman who holds the Orange Cap during the season can wear it while in the field during the games, as long as he remains the leading run-scorer of the tournament.
  • If two or more batsmen are tied on runs, the player with a better strike rate will receive the Orange Cap.
  • If a batsman from the opposition team surpasses the leading run-scorer, the previous holder can continue to wear the Orange Cap until the end of the current innings.

List of all IPL Orange Cap Winners

  • Shaun Marsh was the first recipient of the Orange Cap, having scored 616 runs for Punjab Kings in the inaugural edition of the IPL. Sachin Tendulkar was the first Indian to receive the award, scoring 618 runs in 2010.
  • Chris Gayle is the only player to have won the Orange Cap in consecutive editions, achieving the feat in 2011 and 2012. David Warner has won the award the most number of times (three), while other winners include Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, and KL Rahul.
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad of Chennai Super Kings won the Orange Cap in the 2021 edition of the IPL, scoring 635 runs at an average of over 45 and a strike rate of 136.27.
  • In IPL 2022, Jos Buttler won the Orange Cap for the first time, scoring 863 runs at an average of 57.53 and a strike-rate of 149.05. The IPL 2023 season is set to begin on March 31, with the opening match featuring defending champions Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings.
IPL 2023 Orange Cap List
Shaun Marsh and Chris Gayle- IPL Orange Cap Winners
2008Shaun Marsh (KXIP)1161611568.44139.6851
2009Matthew Hayden (CSK)125728952144.8150
2010Sachin Tendulkar (MI)156188947.53132.6150
2011Chris Gayle (RCB)1260810767.55183.1332
2012Chris Gayle (RCB)1473312861.08160.7471
2013Michael Hussey (CSK)177339552.35129.560
2014Robin Uthappa (KKR)166608344137.7850
2015David Warner (SRH)145629143.23156.5470
2016Virat Kohli (RCB)1697311381.08152.0374
2017David Warner (SRH)1464112658.27141.8141
2018Kane Williamson (SRH)177358452.5142.4480
2019David Warner (SRH)1269210069.2143.8781
2020KL Rahul (KXIP)14670132*55.83129.3451
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad16635101*45.35136.2641
2022Jos Buttler (RR)1786311657.53149.0544

Read our recent IPL Purple Cap update to find out which team’s bowler is leading in taking wickets in IPL 2023.