IPL 2023 Purple Cap List

The Purple Cap holder is a highly coveted award in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and is given to the player who takes the most wickets in the tournament. The award was introduced in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008, and since then, it has been a symbol of excellence and consistency in bowling.Winning the IPL 2023 Purple Cap is not an easy feat, and it requires a combination of skill, strategy, and hard work. The ability to consistently take wickets in a format like T20 cricket is crucial, and the Purple Cap holder is often the difference-maker in close matches.

IPL 2023 Purple Cap List (Updated after MI vs GT Match)

NoBowler NameTeamWktsMatchesOvsBallsAvgRuns
1Rashid KhanGT23124828816.78386
2Yuzi ChahalRR211244.526916.90355
3Piyush ChawlaMI19124728218.78351
4Mohammad ShamiGT19124728219.15364
5Tushar Deshpande CSK191241.224821.78414

IPL 2022 Purple Cap List

No.Player NameTeamMatchRunsWKTSAVRECON.SR
1Yuzvendra ChahalRR17682719.517.7515.1
2Wanindu HasarangaRCB16572616.537.5413.1
3Kagiso RabadaPBKS13482317.658.4512.5
4Umran MalikSRH1449.12220.189.0313.4
5Kuldeep YadavDC1449.42119.958.4314.1
6Josh HazlewoodRCB1246.32018.858.113.9
7Mohammed ShamiGT16612024.4818.3
IPL 2023 Purple Cap List
Yuzvendra Chahal- Purple Cap Winner of IPL 2022

Rules for IPL Purple Cap

  • The Purple Cap is presented to the cricketer who has taken the highest number of wickets in a single season of the Indian Premier League.
  • The player who tops the wicket-taking chart is entitled to wear the Purple Cap during the matches.
  • In the event of a tie in the number of wickets taken, the bowler with a superior economy rate is awarded the Purple Cap.

List of All Purple Cap Winners

  • Sohail Tanvir won the Purple Cap award in the first IPL season in 2008 by taking 22 wickets at an impressive average of 12.09.
  • RP Singh became the first Indian cricketer to receive the Purple Cap award in the 2009 IPL season. He took 23 wickets at a strike rate of 15.50.
  • Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the only players to have won the Purple Cap award twice. Bravo won in 2013 and 2015, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar won in 2016 and 2017.
  • Other cricketers to have won the Purple Cap award in the IPL include Pragyan Ojha, Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel, Mohit Sharma, Andrew Tye, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Harshal Patel, and Yuzvendra Chahal.
  • Harshal Patel won the Purple Cap award in the 14th edition of the IPL in 2021 by taking a massive 32 wickets for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). He shares the record for the most wickets in an IPL season with Dwayne Bravo, who achieved the feat in 2013.
Sohail Tanvir was the first ever Purple Cap holder
Sohail Tanvir was the first-ever player to win the purple cap in Indian Premier League

2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals112212.096.46
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers162318.136.98
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers162120.427.29
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians162813.395.95
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils162518.127.19
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings183215.537.95
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings162319.658.39
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings172616.388.14
2016Bhuvaneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad172321.37.42
2017Bhuvaneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad142614.197.05
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab142418.668
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings172616.576.69
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals173018.268.34
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore153214.348.14
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals172719.517.75

Click here to know about IPL 2023 Orange Cap