ICC Reveals World Cup 2023 Best XI: No Pat Cummins & Rachin Ravindra

Rohit Sharma has been appointed captain of the ICC World Cup 2023 XI, featuring six Indians. Alongside Captain Rohit, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami secured spots in the team, which includes players from five different nations. Australia, the champions, contributed two players (Glenn Maxwell and Adam Zampa), while South Africa, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka each provided one player, forming a diverse lineup. This marks India’s significant representation in the record-extending sixth triumph.

The panel for player selection comprised Ian Bishop and Kass Naidoo, both commentators, along with Shane Watson. Additionally, Wasim Khan, the ICC General Manager for Cricket, and Sunil Vaidya, a journalist from Ahmedabad Mirror, were part of the decision-making group.

Rohit Sharma, the Indian captain, showcased an outstanding performance in the World Cup, amassing 597 runs in 11 matches, the second-highest tally after his teammate Virat Kohli. With a commanding strike rate of 125, the right-handed opener rebounded from a lackluster start against Australia, delivering a scintillating 131 from 84 balls to claim the Player of the Match against Afghanistan. He further solidified his impact by top-scoring with 86 in a crucial victory over arch-rivals Pakistan, consistently crossing the 40-run mark in all matches except one, including the final against Australia.

Quinton de Kock, retiring from ODIs, partnered at the opening with a historic sign-off, becoming the first wicket-keeper in World Cup history to exceed 500 runs and secure 20 dismissals in a single tournament. Although one dismissal short of Adam Gilchrist’s 2003 record, De Kock’s four centuries propelled South Africa to the semi-finals. Joining him in the formidable top order is Kohli, leading the run-scoring charts with a remarkable 765 runs at an average of 95.62. Kohli’s standout performance in the semi-final, including a century, guided India to their first final in 12 years, surpassing Sachin Tendulkar’s 2003 record.

Also read: World Cup 2023 Produces STUNNING Stats! Here is the Full List

Batting at No.4, Mitchell made a stunning debut in the 50-over World Cup, hammering two centuries against India. The prolific Kiwi posted a dynamic 130 in the round-robin clash and a scintillating 134 in the semi-final, accumulating a total of 552 runs.

India’s Rahul holds the No.5 spot, contributing crucial knocks and a century in a routine win against the Netherlands. Despite top-scoring with 66 in the final, Rahul couldn’t secure victory as an inspired Australian side denied the hosts.

The ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 team (in batting order):

  1. Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) – 594 runs at 59.40
  2. Rohit Sharma (c) (India) – 597 runs at 54.27
  3. Virat Kohli (India) – 765 runs at 95.62
  4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) – 552 runs at 69
  5. KL Rahul (India) – 452 runs at 75.33
  6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55
  7. Ravindra Jadeja (India) – 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.87
  8. Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 20 wickets at 18.65
  9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) – 21 wickets at 25
  10. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 23 wickets at 22.39
  11. Mohammed Shami (India) – 24 wickets at 10.70
  12. Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 19.80 (12th player)

IPL 2024

Related articles