IPL 2023: Sunil Gavaskar is confident that Mumbai Indians can win this year’s IPL trophy despite Bumrah’s absence

Former cricketer believes Mumbai Indians have enough talent to make a serious charge at the title, despite losing pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah due to a long-term back injury.


Share post:

Sunil Gavaskar, former Indian cricketer, recently made a bold prediction on Mumbai Indians’ chances in the upcoming IPL 2023 season. Despite the absence of their pace spearhead, Jasprit Bumrah, who has reportedly undergone surgery for a long-term back injury, Gavaskar believes the Mumbai-based team has what it takes to clinch the coveted title.

Mumbai Indians

Gavaskar expressed his confidence in the team’s talent, stating that they have a point to prove after finishing rock bottom in the previous season. He also noted that while they will miss Bumrah, Mumbai has a strong lineup that could still win the championship. Speaking exclusively to Star Sports, Gavaskar said, “I see them in the top three definitely.”

Cricreads provides you the best dream11 prediction and match prediction.
Also Read: Jasprit Bumrah Replacement to be announced soon, MI may pick Sandeep Sharma

Mumbai Indians, who have won the IPL title a record-breaking five times, are yet to announce who will replace Bumrah. The pace bowler is considered one of the biggest match-winners the team has ever produced. With Bumrah out, Mumbai would undoubtedly have to work on their combinations to fill his shoes, a task that could prove challenging as there aren’t many Indian pacers with the same level of skill and experience.

Also Read: Chris Jordan to Replace Jhye Richardson for Mumbai Indians

MI IPL 2023 squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Tim David (o), Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Tristan Stubbs (o), Dewald Brevis (o), Jofra Archer (o), Jasprit Bumrah (o) (ruled out), Arjun Tendulkar, Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jason Behrendorff (o) (ruled out), Akash Madhwal, Cameron Green, Jhye Richardson, Piyush Chawla, Duan Jansen (o), Vishnu Vinod, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Raghav Goyal.

Follow Cricreads to get all the latest updates on IPL 2023, WPL, Dream11 Prediction, T20 Leagues, Match Prediction, Cricket on Social Media and more

Related articles