The Sydney Thunder defeated the Brisbane Heat by 10 wickets, thanks to strong performances from Matthew Gilkes and Alex Hales

Share post:

The Thunder had a 122-run target, but magnificent half-centuries from Hales and Gilkes needed just 70 balls to finish the job – the best opening partnership of this BBL season.

Jimmy Peirson, the captain of the Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to bat first against the Sydney Thunder at Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney.

Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder Playing XI  

Brisbane Heat: Max Bryant, Colin Munro, Matt Renshaw, Sam Billings, Jimmy Peirson (WK/C), Ross Whiteley, Michael Neser, Xavier Bartlett, Mark Steketee, Matthew Kuhnemann, Mitchell Swepson 

Sydney Thunder: Alex Hales, Matthew Gilkes (WK), Rilee Rossouw, Oliver Davies, Daniel Sams, Alex Ross, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green (C), Gurinder Sandhu, Brendan Doggett, Usman Qadir

Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder Match Highlights

Brisbane Heat chose to bat first, but they quickly lost Bryant, Renshaw, and Billings, leaving them with just 26 runs after 6 overs. Brisbane opener Colin Munro (43 off 47) and captain Jimmy Peirson (27 off 24) tried to keep the Heat in the contest but they both got out back-to-back. In spite of this, Xavier Bartlett’s innings (28 off 17) helped the Brisbane Heat surpass 120 runs. At one point, it looked like they would only score around 110, but they fought back and now have a competitive total to bowl at. 

Brisbane Heat was soundly beaten. The primary reason for this was the difference in intent between the two teams. While it looked like Brisbane Heat were batting on a different pitch entirely, the bowlers did an excellent job of limiting their score. Around 120 looked like a decent target, but Alex Hales and Matthew Gilkes made batting look easy. Thanks to their knocks, Sydney Thunder are now out of last place in the table.

Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder Match Scorecard

HEA vs THU: 17th Match, Big Bash League 12

Brisbane Heat: 121/6 in 20 overs

Sydney Thunder: 124/0 in 11.4 overs

Result: Sydney Thunder won by 10 wickets

Related articles