No Virat Kohli & Rohit Sharma: 5 Highest Run-getters in World Cup History featuring AB de Villiers

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma does not feature in the list of top 5 Highest run getters in World Cup history

As the Asia Cup concludes on September 17, 2023, cricket enthusiasts worldwide will eagerly shift their focus to the impending World Cup, with a particular spotlight on Indian fans. Speaking of the World Cup, would you like to explore the illustrious career of the top five highest run-scorers in the tournament’s history? Spoiler Alert: The leading run-scorer happens to be an Indian cricket icon, often referred to as the God of cricket. Let’s delve into this list now!

Number 5: AB De Villiers
Claiming the fifth spot is AB de Villiers, renowned by the moniker “Mr. 360.” De Villiers represented South Africa, embarking on his World Cup journey in 2007, concluding it in 2015. Over this nine-year period, Mr. 360 participated in more than 23 matches, amassing a total of 1207 runs. De Villiers’ highest individual score in the World Cup stands at 162 runs. Throughout his remarkable World Cup career, spanning nearly a decade, he notched up 4 centuries and 6 half-centuries.

Number 4: BC Lara
In fourth place stands Brian Charles Lara, often referred to as BC Lara. Lara, a West Indies cricket legend, graced the World Cup stage from 1992 to 2007, marking a 16-year involvement. During his enduring tenure in the World Cup, Lara amassed an impressive tally of 1225 runs in 34 matches. He registered 2 centuries and 7 half-centuries, with his highest score being 116 runs.

Number 3: KC Sangakkara
Securing the third position is none other than the globally celebrated Sri Lankan cricketer, Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara. Sangakkara embarked on his World Cup journey in 2003, concluding it in 2015, dedicating 13 years to representing Sri Lanka in this prestigious tournament. Over this extensive 13-year span, Sangakkara compiled an impressive total of 1532 runs across 37 matches. His highest individual score was 124 runs, and he notched up 5 centuries and 7 half-centuries during his World Cup career.

Number 2: RT Ponting
The name RT Ponting is synonymous with cricket, known and admired by fans across generations, be it 90s kids or GenZ enthusiasts. Ponting’s World Cup career spanned from 1996 to 2011, representing the Australian team for six years. Throughout this period, he achieved the milestone of 5 centuries and 6 half-centuries. Ponting holds the second position with a remarkable total of 1743 runs accumulated in 46 matches.

Number 1: Sachin Tendulkar
At the summit of this prestigious list reigns the legendary, often hailed as the GOAT (Greatest of All Time), and affectionately known as the God of cricket, Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin graced the World Cup stage representing Team India from 1992 to 2011.

Despite a comparatively shorter World Cup career spanning just six years, Sachin’s records remain unparalleled. The cricketing maestro amassed an astounding 2278 runs in a mere 45 matches. Sachin’s dominance is underscored by his record of 6 centuries and 15 half-centuries in World Cup history, with his highest individual score standing at 152 runs. Sachin’s impact on the game remains unmatched, and his legacy is etched in the annals of cricket history.

IPL 2024

Related articles